Last Updated on December 12, 2022 by Rose Morah
Before sleeping in the car after a long drive, it’s important first to check if the state laws allow you to park and sleep.
These are laws relating to sleeping at rest stops and not parking laws.
Before we go into the list of states that allow drivers to sleep in the car and those that don’t, is it legal to legal to sleep in a car in the US?
Yes, it is legal to sleep in the car in some states provided that:
- You are not drunk or under drug intoxication.
- You don’t sleep while the car keys are in the ignition.
- You are not sleeping while driving.
- You don’t park on private property unless authorized.
- You are not doing anything suspicious.
Related: Can You Sleep In Your Car In A Parking Lot?
You may also like:
11 Best Cars To Sleep In (Tips From Avid Campers).
How to Sleep in a Car During Winter (5 Things You Should Know).
States with no laws prohibiting sleeping in the car
|STATES||SLEEPING IN CAR LAWS||CITIES (Where it is illegal to sleep in the car)|
|Alabama||No Sleeping Laws, but in some cities, it is illegal.|
The Alabama Department of Transportation (ALDOT) has not published anything on this.
|Alaska||No Sleeping Laws||Sleeping in the car laws varies depending on the city|
|Delaware||There are no rules prohibiting sleeping in rest areas. |
But parking rules should be followed (4-hour limit).
|Georgia||No specified sleeping law. |
However, before parking to sleep in your car, read the parking signs.
|Indiana||No Specific Laws for sleeping in the car.|
|Iowa||No Specific Laws but do not camp outside your car.|
|Kansas||There are no specific laws that prohibit anyone from sleeping in the car at a public facility or rest area.|
|Kentucky||No Specific Laws|
|Louisiana||No Specific Laws|
|Maine||No Specific Laws|
|Maryland||No Specific Laws|
|Massachusetts||No Specific Laws|
|Michigan||No Specific Laws|
|Minnesota||No Specific Laws|
|Mississippi||No Specific Laws|
|Missouri||No Specific Laws – But sleeping in the car should not be more than 24 hours.|
|Montana||No Specific Laws|
|Nebraska||No Specific Laws|
|New Hampshire||No Specific Laws|
|New York||No Specific Laws|
|North Carolina||No Specific Laws|
|North Dakota||No Specific Laws – But don’t sleep in your car for more than 24 hours.|
|Oklahoma||No Specific Laws|
|Pennsylvania||No Specific Laws|
|Rhode Island||No Specific Laws|
|Vermont||No Specific Laws|
|West Virginia||No Specific Laws|
Read This Before Sleeping In A Car At A Truck Stop.
How To Quickly Get Bed Bugs Out Of Your Vehicle.
How To Permanently Get Rid Of Roaches In The Car (Fast & Effectively).
States where it’s legal to sleep in your car
|STATES||SLEEPING IN CAR LAWS||CITIES (where it’s illegal to sleep in the car)|
|Arizona||LEGAL, but this does not include camping outside the car.||Phoenix|
|Arkansas||LEGAL, but this does not include camping outside the car.|
|California||It is illegal to sleep in your car in some cities between 9 PM to 6 AM||Los Angeles (illegal near schools and parks)|
San Francisco (From 10PM – 6AM)
Sacramento ( only on the street or city parking lot)
San Jose (illegal if you are not a resident of this city).
San Diego – (it is illegal to sleep near a school and the Westside neighborhood).
|Colorado||LEGAL – Only at designated overnight parking locations, but do not violate the parking laws.|
|Connecticut||LEGAL – Although some cities prohibit sleeping in the car at certain hours.|
|Florida||illegal – It is illegal to sleep in most cities in Florida.|
|Hawaii||illegal – It is illegal to sleep in your car between 6 PM and 6 AM.|
You are not allowed to sleep in your car in Hawaii public areas and on highways.
|Idaho||LEGAL – it is legal to sleep in the car in Idaho for a max of 10 hours. People are not allowed to camp outside.|
|Illinois||LEGAL to sleep in the car but not camp outside the vehicle.|
You are only allowed to park in a rest area for more than 3 hours.
|Nevada||It is illegal to sleep in a car under certain circumstances.|
|Oregon||LEGAL, but do not stay more than 12 hours at a rest area.|
|Virginia||LEGAL, but no camping outside the car.|
|Washington||LEGAL but should not be for over 8 hours.|
|Wisconsin||LEGAL as long as you sleep inside the car.|